Imran Khan won Kurram seat


KURRAM: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman and former prime minister Imran Khan on Sunday trounced his Pakistan Democratic Movement-backed rival and other candidates to win the by-poll on the Nat­ional Assembly’s constituency NA-45 Kurram-1.

According to unofficial results of all 143 polling stations, Mr Khan received 20,748 votes against 12,718 secured by his close rival Jamil Khan.

The turnout remained around 18.4 per cent as voters mostly stayed away from the polling process.

With this victory, Mr Khan has won all the four National Assembly seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, where by-elections were held for filling seats dec­lared vacant after the resignations of the then incumbent MNAs, belonging to PTI.

This seat had fallen vacant with the resignation of ex-MNA Fakhar Zaman Khan.

With 16 candidates in the run, the Election Commission of Pakistan had set up 143 polling stations out of which 119 were declared as most sensitive and remaining 24 as sensitive.

Police, Levies and paramilitary forces were deployed at the polling stations. No untoward incident was reported from any polling station.

A total of 198,618 voters, including 111,349 male and 87,269 female voters, exercised their right to vote.

You May Also Like


TECH becomes the official online university of the NBA

The agreement between the NBA and the world's largest digital university reinforces the comprehensive development of students


Australian marked National Day as Invasion Day

SYDNEY: Thousands of Australians marked the country’s national day celebrations on


Trump FB-Instagram accounts reinstaated

SAN FRANCISCO: Meta Platforms Inc said on Wednesday it will reinstate former US