Over new Covid variant Omicron Pakistan bans travel from various countries amid concern


The government has decided to impose travel restrictions for six South African countries and Hong Kong immediately in the wake of emergence of new variant of COVID-19.

Minister for Planning and Development Asad Umar in a tweet on Saturday said that a notification regarding travel restrictions has been issued.

He said emergence of new variant makes it even more urgent to vaccinate all citizens 12 years and older.

The countries on which ban has been imposed on direct and indirect inbound travel include South Africa, Hong Kong, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini and Botswana.

Meanwhile, National Command and Operation Center has urged the citizens to strictly adhere to Corovirus-related SoPs following emergence of new variant, Omicron, in various countries of the world.

In a tweet, the NCOC asked the people to ensure vaccination of both the doses, wearing of masks, follow isolaton and get tested in case of any symptoms.

You May Also Like


Putin warned Finland Sweden for applying to join Nato

KYIV: Russian President Vladimir Putin warned Finland and Sweden on Monday to expect a “response


Sri Lanka down with last day of petrol

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka’s new prime minister said on Monday the crisis-hit nation was down


Elisabeth Borne first French women PM

PARIS: Labour Minister Elisabeth Borne as his new prime minister, the first woman to head