Pakistan News Service

Friday Apr 18, 2014, Jumada-al-thani 17, 1435 Hijri
Main   Cricket Football Squash Tennis Hockey Golf Snooker
Tribune Home -> Sports -> Cricket -> News Details

Usman usurps SNGPL as ZTBL crowned champions

04 December, 2013

KARACHI: Relatively unknown left-arm seamer Usman Khan Shinwari claimed a five-wicket haul to help ZTBL become Faysal Bank Departmental T20 Cup champions as they beat SNGPL by 78 runs in a one-sided final played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Tuesday.

  More on this View All

ZTBL got the winning purse of Rs2 million, while SNGPL received half the amount as the runner-up.

Usman, who came into the limelight in the Ramadan T20 tournaments, was unplayable in his early burst as SNGPL were left reeling on nine for four in three overs in their quest of the 185-run target.

Usman was on course to create history of having the best bowling figures in T20 format as he bowled two straight maidens with four wickets to his name, dismissing Taufeeq Umar (0), Mohammad Rizwan (0), Ali Waqas (1) and Misbahul Haq (0).

Umar Akmal was soon back in the dugout after a 11-ball 19 with the help of a six and two boundaries while Imran Khalid (1) and Khurram Shehzad (10) followed him as SNGPL were restricted to 38 for seven.

Bilawal Bhatti top-scored with a 20-ball 38 to lead SNGPL get all out on at least a respectable 106 in 16.1 overs. It was Usman wrapping up a perfect show by dismissing last batsman Samiullah Niazi (2).

Imran Khan chipped in with three wickets while Saeed Ajmal and Zohaib Khan got a scalp each.

Usman was adjudged as man-of-the-final for his superb bowling display and also ended up as the leading wicket-taker in the event with 11 wickets from six outings. He also became the best fielder in this competition with four catches.

Earlier, SNGPL's decision to bowl first once again backfired in the most important match as ZTBL went on to amass 184 for three in 20 overs.

They got off to a terrific start as opener Imran Nazir and Sharjeel Khan were involved in an 85-run opening stand. Both were dismissed by Imran Ali as Sarjeel made 45 off 30 with two sixes and four boundaries while Nazir scored a 26-ball 39 with two maximums and four strikes to the fence.

Semi-final hero Yasir Hameed (32) and Haris Sohail, who has recently received a recall into Pakistan fold, carried on the good work. Sohail ended up with 58 off 32 containing three sixes and five boundaries. Bilawal Bhatti picked up the other wicket.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfaraz Ahmed ended up as the best batsman with 250 runs from five matches with three half-centuries. Meanwhile, Shakeel Ansar got the most number of dismissals by taking nine catches and two stumpings.