Pakistan News Service

Friday Apr 25, 2014, Jumada-al-thani 24, 1435 Hijri
Main   Cricket Football Squash Tennis Hockey Golf Snooker
Tribune Home -> Sports -> Cricket -> News Details

PCB names 15-member team for Sri Lanka series

13 December, 2013

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan cricket selectors on Thursday left out opener Nasir Jamshed and middle-order batsman Umar Amin from Pakistan's 15-man squad named for a five-match one-day international series against Sri Lanka starting in Sharjah from next Wednesday (December 18).

  More on this View All

The selectors have brought in Sharjeel Khan and Haris Sohail as their like-for-like replacements. Jamshed and Amin were part of the squad that defeated South Africa 2-1 away last month – Pakistan's first-ever win against the Proteas. The 24-year-old Jamshed scored two and 24 in the two matches he played of the series while Amin made 25 in his only appearance.

Sharjeel made his international T20 debut in a one-off encounter against Afghanistan on December 9. He followed that up with a solid performance in the first T20I against Sri Lanka in Dubai on Wednesday, scoring 34 off 31 balls, as the hosts wrapped up a three-wicket victory. Sohail is also a relatively new face for Pakistan, having made his T20I debut against West Indies on July 28. He has gone on to add four ODIs to his career, with the last of them against Zimbabwe on August 27.

The second one-day will be in Dubai on December 20, the third in Sharjah on the 22nd while the fourth and fifth one-days will be played in Abu Dhabi on the 25th and 27th respectively. Pakistan will also play three Tests against Sri Lanka for which a squad will be named later. Pacemen Umar Gul and Mohammad Irfan were not considered as both are recuperating from injuries. There was also no place for veterans Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq – who both had to return from South Africa after injuries.


Misbahul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Junaid Khan, Anwar Ali, Sohail Tanvir and Bilawal Bhatti.