Pakistan News Service

Monday Feb 19, 2018, Jumada-al-thani 3, 1439 Hijri
Main   Cricket Football Squash Tennis Hockey Golf Snooker
Tribune Home -> Sports -> Cricket -> News Details

Dananjaya in Sri Lanka's emerging squad

14 February, 2013

DHAKA: Sri Lanka's new selection panel has chosen Angelo Perera, Tharindu Kaushal and Akila Dananjaya along with 21 other young players in an emerging squad from which the team for the warm-up match against Bangladesh in Matara will be chosen.

  More on this View All

Perera, a 22-year-old middle order batsman, has been in stunning form in the Premier League tournament, having made two aggressive hundreds and an 87 in his three innings so far.

Offspinner Tharindu Kaushal, 19, has also been picked on form during his first season of domestic cricket, in which he has taken 22 List A wickets at 18.63, and 19 first-class scalps at 8.89. His first two first-class matches have yielded three five-wicket hauls. Kaushal was also picked in the Sri Lanka squad for the home Tests against New Zealand in November last year, but did not get a game.

Dananjaya meanwhile, has been part of Sri Lanka's limited-overs squads since last year's World Twenty20, and has also had a good debut domestic season so far.

Wicketkeeper-batsman and opener Niroshan Dickwella, who was the 2012 schoolboy cricketer of the year, has also had a successful introduction to professional cricket at 19, most notably scoring a match-winning hundred in the inter-provincial limited overs final.

Ashen Silva, a 22-year-old opener in a more conservative mould, has also been chosen. Middle-order batsman Kithruwan Vithanage, who has also scored heavily in the Premier League Tournament so far, also earns a spot.

The team will be coached by former Sri Lanka wicketkeeper-batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, and play a three-day match against Bangladesh from March 3-5 to kick off the tour.

Squad Ashen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Tharindu Kaushal, Akila Dananjaya, Angelo Perera, Udara Jayasundera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Kithruwan Vithanage, Ashan Priyanjana, Rumesh Buddika, Gayan Manishan (wk), Sandun Weerakkody, Lahiru Madushanka, Ishantha Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Madushanka, Lahiru Jayaratne, Chaturanga de Silva, Ramith Rambukwela, Dulanjana Mendis, Maduka Liyanapathirana.


Suggested Sites