Pakistan News Service

Thursday Aug 22, 2019, Zul-hijjah 20, 1440 Hijri
Pakistan News Home -> Tribune Corner -> News Details

Shehryar Afridi inaugurated NPHP Registration Centre

23 October, 2018

  Related News  
Govt to take urgent measures to reduce electricity tariff: Imran Khan
Indian forces killed nine Kashmiris
  More on this View All

The registration process for ‘Naya Pakistan Housing Programme’ started Monday amid long queues of people witnessed outside registration centres of National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) in Islamabad and deputy commissioner offices in other districts.

Minister of State for Interior Shehryar Afridi, who inaugurated Naya Pakistan Housing Authority Registration Centre at NADRA Mega Centre Blue Area, said the target of the government was to ensure provision of five million affordable houses for underprivileged classes during the next five years.

Talking to reporters on the occasion, the minister expressed the confidence that the programme would not only help realize dream of a shelter for the poor but also create ample employment opportunities in the country. It will also attract local and foreign investment and stimulate about 40 related industries, he added.

Afridi said the poor people had been deprived of their basic rights in the past but the present government of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) would ensure protection of their rights.

Highlighting the basic idea of this housing scheme, he said it would help materialize dream of the poor owning their house. He said the country needs around 10 million housing units and to achieve the target, there is a need to build at least 0.5 million units every year at a reasonable price. He said the masses would be facilitated through one-window services, adding the government has started this much-awaited mega housing project within its 100-day plan.

In the federal capital, the registration forms can be submitted at NADRA Mega Centre in Blue Area, Deputy Commissioner Office G-11/4 and Tehsil Office I-10/3 whilst in other districts, the forms can be submitted at deputy commissioner offices.

The aspirants can download forms and can submit those with their respective housing programme offices till December 21, along with Rs 250 fee. Initially seven cities have been identified for the scheme comprising Sukkur, Quetta, Gilgit, Muzaffarabad, Swat, Islamabad and Faisalabad. The government has also included Lahore, Multan, Gujranwala, Jhelum, Bahawalpur, Sialkot, Kasur, Layyah, Vehari and Rahim Yar Khan in the scheme.

 What do you think about the story ? Leave your comments!

Heading (Optional)
Your Comments: *

Your Name:*
E-mail (Optional):
City (Optional):
Country (Optional):
Field marked(*) are mandatory.
Note. The PakTribune will publish as many comments as possible but cannot guarantee publication of all. PakTribune keeps its rights reserved to edit the comments for reasons of clarity, brevity and morality. The external links like http:// https:// etc... are not allowed for the time being to be posted inside comments to discourage spammers.

  Speak Out View All
Military Courts
Imran - Qadri long march
Candid Corner
Exclusive by
Lt. Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
Pakistan itself a victim of state-sponsored terrorism: Qamar Bajwa
Should You Try Napping During the Workday?
Suggested Sites