Pakistan News Service

Saturday Feb 16, 2019, Jumada-al-thani 10, 1440 Hijri
Pakistan News Home -> Top -> News Details

PML-N rules out differences with PML-F on seat adjustment

18 April, 2013

  Related News  
Is the youth of PPP, PML-N politically bonded?
No number 1 or number 2, only 'Mother Sindh': Bilawal
  Related Articles  
Aitzaz and Raja Ashraf's laments
By Asif Haroon Raja
Foreign Influence in Pakistani Politics
By Zaheerul Hassan
  Related Speakout  
Playing Politics or Need Revolution by Altaf Hussain
Friends turned foes
  More on this View All
  Related News Poll

KARACHI: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has no differences with Pir Pagaro-led Pakistan Muslim League-Functional on seat adjustments issue and both the parties will continue cooperation in the elections, said former chief minister of Punjab Mian Shahbaz Sharif during his visit to Karachi on Wednesday.

Sharif said that seat adjustment was being made with the 10-party alliance in Sindh to defeat Pakistan People's Party (PPP).

He demanded transfer of what he called partial bureaucracy in Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber-Pakhtonkhwa provinces to ensure free and fair elections.

Addressing media persons after presiding over a meeting of his party's parliamentary board in Karachi, Shahbaz said the caretaker setup of Sindh was continuation of President Asif Ali Zardari's previous government. He said most of the bureaucrats in Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber-Pakhtonkhwa were those posted by the erstwhile government.

Commenting on recent incidents of terrorism in the country, he said the Federal caretaker government should take appropriate steps for improving law and order situation. The government should provide security to those political parties which are under threat, he added.

Responding to a question, he hailed disqualification of Pervez Musharaf as positive development, saying the ex-president not only violated the Constitution but also involved in murder case of Baloch tribal leader, Nawab Akbar Bugti. He vowed that the PML-N would defeat PPP in Sindh with help of other allied parties. All the coalition parties will contest against the PPP jointly, he affirmed.

Later, he visited Raja House and held a meeting with PML-Functional Chief Pir Pagaro Pir Sibghatullah Shah Rashdi. Both the leaders discussed matters pertaining to seat adjustments in forthcoming general elections in Sindh.

Predicting the results of forthcoming general elections Shahbaz Sharif said that nobody can restrain Mian Nawaz Sharif from becoming third time prime minister. He said that PML-N will sweep in elections with support of people and its allied parties.

Pir Pagaro said that he had already predicted about bloodshed during forthcoming general elections and it was witnessed now. He said that the 10-party alliance had developed consensus on seat adjustment in most of the constituencies.

Meanwhile, in Lahore, after lengthy party deliberations, the PML-N has finally announced the names of its candidates from the provincial capital and hub of politics - the Lahore city on Wednesday.

PML-N's candidates for the 13 national assembly constituencies from Lahore are NA-118 Malik Riaz, NA-119 Mian Hamza Shahbaz, NA-120 Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, NA-121 Mehar Ishtiaq Ahmad, NA-122 Sardar Ayyaz Sadiq, NA-123 Pervaz Malik, NA-124 Sheikh Rohail Asghar, NA-125 Khawaja Saad Rafique, NA-126 Khawaja Ahmad Hassan, NA-127 Waheed Alam Khan, NA-128 Malik Afzal Khokhar, NA-129 Shahbaz Sharif, and NA-130 Sohail Shaukat Butt.

Provincial assembly candidates from 25 constituencies of Lahore district are PP-137 Khawaja Imran Nazeer, PP-138 Mushtaq Mughal, PP-139 Bilal Yasin, PP-140 Majid Zahoor, PP-141 Mujtaba Shuja-ur-Rehman, PP-142 Mian Hamza Shahbaz, PP-143 Shahbaz Ahmad, PP-144 Bao Akhtar Ali, PP-145 Waheed Gul, PP-146 Malik Waheed, PP-147 Mohsin Latif, PP-148 Chaudhry Akhtar Rasool, PP-149 Rana Mashood Ahmed, PP-150 Mehar Ishtiaq Ahmed, PP-151 Syed Tauseef Shah, PP-152 Khawaja Salman Rafique, PP-153 Ramzan Siddique Bhatti, PP-154 Zaeem Qadri, PP-155 Mian Naseer Ahmad, PP-156 Yasin Sohal, PP-157 Rana Tajamal, PP-158 Ghulam Habib, and PP-160 Malik Saif-ul-Malook Khokhar while the two constituencies including PP-159 and PP-161 are still vacant as party has not yet decided the final candidates.

PML-N sources have told our sources that the party has replaced some strong candidates with relatively weaker ones, taking into account some rifts within the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). The PML-N has given tickets to Wahed Alam Khan from NA-127 replacing its strong candidate and former MNA Naseer Bhutta while the party ticket has also been issued to Sohail Shoukat Butt from NA-130 against Ejaz Dayal who was a more prominent candidate from the area against Ghurki family of PPP, they added. About the change of candidate in NA-121 as Mian Marghoob was being considered stronger than any other candidate, the sources said that in NA-121 where the party has decided to drop former parliamentarian Mian Marghoob Ahmad and gave the ticket to former MPA Mehr Ishtiaque Ahmad to disturb the vote bank of former Muslim Leaguer Mian Azhar who's son was now contesting from the same constituency on a PTI ticket.

On the provincial seats, the PML-N has dropped several prominent figures of the party including Chaudhry Abdul Ghafoor, Dr Saeed Elahi, Dr Asad Ashraf, Haji Allah Rakha, Hafiz Mian Nauman, Ejaz Ahmad Khan, Qaisar Amin Butt, Umar Sohail Zia Butt, and Sohail Zia Butt while the party has nominated some candidates especially Chaudhry Akhtar Rasool, Rana Mashhood, Khawaja Imran Nazir, Zaeem Qadri, that were being strongly criticised by party workers for their former affiliations and loyalties or performance during their last tenure.


 What do you think about the story ? Leave your comments!

Heading (Optional)
Your Comments: *

Your Name:*
E-mail (Optional):
City (Optional):
Country (Optional):
Field marked(*) are mandatory.
Note. The PakTribune will publish as many comments as possible but cannot guarantee publication of all. PakTribune keeps its rights reserved to edit the comments for reasons of clarity, brevity and morality. The external links like http:// https:// etc... are not allowed for the time being to be posted inside comments to discourage spammers.

  Speak Out View All
Military Courts
Imran - Qadri long march
Candid Corner
Exclusive by
Lt. Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
Pakistan itself a victim of state-sponsored terrorism: Qamar Bajwa
Should You Try Napping During the Workday?
Suggested Sites