Pakistan News Service

Friday Apr 20, 2018, Shaban 4, 1439 Hijri
Logo Logo
Pakistan News Home -> Top -> News Details

NAB files references against Gilani, Pervaiz, Dhedhi

25 January, 2014

ISLAMABAD: The National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has filed a reference against two former prime ministers of the PPP government Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf in the accountability court relating to the appointment of Tauqeer Sadiq as Chairman Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (Ogra).

Besides the reference against the two former prime ministers, the NAB has also filed a supplementary reference in the accountability court against stockbroker Aqeel Karim Dhedhi and other co-accused in a mega corruption case of Rs82 billion in Ogra.

The NAB Chairman, Qamar Zaman Chaudhry, signed the two references on Thursday and subsequently the references were filed on Friday following the approval of the NAB Executive Board for the two references in the multi-billion Ogra scam.

After filing the references, the NAB also submitted a report to the Supreme Court onthe multi-billion Ogra scam on the directives of the apex court.When contacted, the NAB Spokesman, Ramzan Sajid, confirmed that both the references had been filed in the accountability court after the signature of NAB Chairman Qamar Zaman Chaudhry.

It may be noted that the NAB Executive Board gave its approval for filing the two references on Wednesday. In the reference on the appointment of Tauqeer Sadiq as Ogra chairman, the accused persons include former prime minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, former minister for water and power Raja Pervaiz Ashraf (Chairman Selection Committee), Shaukat Durrani, Member Technical for selection process, Javed Nazir, Member selection committee from Ogra, Sikandar Hayat Mekan, ex-senior joint secretary Cabinet Division, and Tauqeer Sadiq (the beneficiary).

The supplementary reference in the Ogra corruption case was filed against the accused Tauqeer Sadiq, Mansoor Muzaffar, Mir Kamal Fareed Bijrani, Jawad Jamil, Dewan Zia ur Rehman Farooqi, Abdur Rashid Lone, Zohair Siddique, Azeem Iqbal Siddique, Aqeel Karim Dhedhi, Syed Arsalan Iqbal, Mirza Mehmood Ahmed and Yousaf J Ansari.

The interim reference against the prime accused Tauqeer Sadiq in the multi-billion scam of Rs82 billion had already been filed in the accountability court in November 2012.

According to the sources, the references against the two prime ministers Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and the selection committee that recommended the name of Tauqeer Sadiq as the Ogra chairman comprised nine pages while the reference that was filed in the Ogra corruption case comprised seven pages.


 What do you think about the story ? Leave your comments!

Heading (Optional)
Your Comments: *

Your Name:*
E-mail (Optional):
City (Optional):
Country (Optional):
Field marked(*) are mandatory.
Note. The PakTribune will publish as many comments as possible but cannot guarantee publication of all. PakTribune keeps its rights reserved to edit the comments for reasons of clarity, brevity and morality. The external links like http:// https:// etc... are not allowed for the time being to be posted inside comments to discourage spammers.

  Speak Out View All
Military Courts
Imran - Qadri long march
Candid Corner
Exclusive by
Lt. Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
Pakistan itself a victim of state-sponsored terrorism: Qamar Bajwa
Should You Try Napping During the Workday?
Suggested Sites