Pakistan News Service

Sunday Jun 24, 2018, Shawwal 10, 1439 Hijri
Logo Logo
Pakistan News Home -> Top -> News Details

14 PML-Q MPs take oath as ministers

03 May, 2011

ISLAMABAD: President Asif Ali Zardari on Monday administered oath to 14 federal ministers and ministers of state belonging to the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q).

With the inclusion of seven federal and seven ministers of state, the size of the cabinet has increased to 36 members. Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi has taken oath as a senior minister. He will hold the portfolios of defence production and industry ministries. Makhdoom Faisal Saleh Hayat has been given the portfolio of the Housing and Works Ministry, Ghaus Bukhsh Mehar the Privatisation Ministry, Chaudhry Wajhat Hussain the Overseas Pakistanis Ministry, Riaz Hussain Peerzada the Minorities Affairs Ministry, Engineer Amir Muqam the Production Ministry and Anwar Ali Cheema the Health Ministry.

Raza Hayat Hiraj took oath as minister of state for housing and works, Sheikh Waqas Akram as minister of state for overseas Pakistanis, Rana Asif Tauseef as minister of state for privatisation, Sardar Shahjehan Yousuf as minister of state for health and Sardar Bahadur Khan Sehar as minister of state for defence production. Khwaja Sheeraz and Akram Masih Gill have also taken oath as ministers of state.

Earlier in the day, Riaz Hussain Peerzada declined his party’s offer to take oath as a minister of state. The PML-Q leadership later made a readjustment and it was decided that he would take oath as the federal minister for minorities affairs and Akram Masih Gill as the minister of state.

Khwaja Sheeraz was earlier proposed the position of special assistant to the premier but his name was later included in the list of ministers of state. The portfolio for Khwaja Sheeraz will be announced later.

Raja Basharat has been appointed as the adviser to prime minister on defence production and Mustafa Nawaz Khokar as the adviser to prime minister on human rights.

Three special assistants to the prime minister, from the quota of the PML-Q, were also appointed. They included Syed Qasim Shah and Ahmed Yar Hiraj. Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, Punjab Governor Sardar Latif Khosa, Khyber Pakhtoonkwa Governor Barrister Kauser Masood, Sindh Chief Minister Qaim Ali Shah, Gilgit-Baltistan Chief Minister Syed Mahdi Shah, PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Waseem Sajjad, federal ministers, members of the parliament and senior officers attended the oth taking ceremony.


  Speak Out View All
Military Courts
Imran - Qadri long march
Candid Corner
Exclusive by
Lt. Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
Pakistan itself a victim of state-sponsored terrorism: Qamar Bajwa
Should You Try Napping During the Workday?
Suggested Sites